New Minimum Standards for HSC in 2020

Starting from 2020, high school students in New South Wales will need to meet a minimum standard of literacy and numeracy to receive the HSC.

Students will need to complete a series of short online reading, writing and numeracy tests and achieve a minimum Level 3 or 4 to meet the minimum standard. You can attempt each test twice a year starting in Year 10.

The standard will be introduced to help improve the literacy and numeracy of students, and ensure that they have the basic skills required for life after school. For example, regardless of your plans for after school, you are going to need some math skills to make sure you get a good deal on your mobile phone plan.

Year 12 students in 2020 don’t need to sit the reading, writing or numeracy tests if they achieved Band 8 or above in the respective 2017 Year 9 NAPLAN tests. From 2021 and onwards, it will be compulsory to complete the online tests.

If you don’t meet the minimum standard, you will not be able to receive a HSC. However, you don’t need to meet the HSC minimum standard to:

  • study HSC courses
  • sit HSC exams
  • receive HSC assessment and exam results
  • receive an ATAR
  • receive a Record of School Achievement.

You can read more about the upcoming changes here:

You can also read about what each short test will involve and look at example questions here:

Get The Latest Updates

Get more opportunities

Join our free newsletter crew – we don’t send spam, just news and opportunities to help you build your career.

Quick Links

Latest Video

Recent Posts

Sign up for our Newsletter

We won’t send you spam, or fifty emails a week. We just send opportunities that could help you find a career you love

Scroll to Top

Fill in the form to update your details

Oops! You need to be logged in to use this form.

Welcome Back

Everything's where you left it