2021 Queensland Literary Awards

The Queensland Literary Awards celebrate and promote outstanding Australian writers.

On offer are eight national prizes for outstanding published books by Australian writers, illustrators and creators. This includes the $25,000 Queensland Premier’s Award for a work of State Significance which highlights a uniquely Queensland story.

Published book awards and prizes:

  • Queensland Premier’s Award for a work of State Significance – $25,000
  • Fiction Book Award – $15,000
  • Non-Fiction Book Award – $15,000
  • Griffith University Young Adult Book Award – $15,000
  • Children’s Book Award – $15,000
  • University of Southern Queensland Steele Rudd Award for a Short Story Collection – $15,000
  • Judith Wright Calanthe Award for a Poetry Collection – $15,000
  • The Courier-Mail People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year Award – $10,000

Development awards are also on offer including the David Unaipon Award and Glendower Award for unpublished manuscripts, and opportunities for Queensland writers only – three Queensland Writers Fellowships and two Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards.

Nominations close at 5pm AEST on Friday 30 April 2021.

Find out more and apply here: https://www.slq.qld.gov.au/get-involved/fellowships-awards-residencies/queensland-literary-awards

Get The Latest Updates

Subscribe to our Career Newsletter

No spam, just news and opportunities about careers and further education


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Scroll to Top

Welcome Back

Everything's where you left it